The Lingam and The Yoni

- April 21, 2021


By Malini Saigal 

Many gods are worshipped through their symbols as well as through their image or murtis. Symbols are always connected to a particular idea about the god. A shalagram (fossilized shell) is a symbol of Vishnu, as he is supposed to restart the universe from the cosmic ocean. Krishna is often worshipped as a kadamba tree, as in the story of Krishna’s boyhood, he would always play his flute under the kadamba tree. Similarly, the Bodhi tree is also a sign of the Buddha, as that is where he gained enlightenment.

Read more such exciting stories on the ACK Comics App today :- Click now

Illustration: Durgesh Velhal

The symbol of Shiva and Parvati are the lingam and the yoni, which are the male and female regenerative organs. They symbolise the life force of the universe. When they are together, there is cosmic balance and harmony in nature.

The idea that the universe, or rather existence itself, is a result of the union of male and female energies is as much a scientific fad as it is a philosophical truth. It has found expression in many religions across the world, like the Chinese and the Egyptian civilizations.

Illustration: Sanjay Valecha, Arijit Dutta Chowdhury and Durgesh Velhal

It is interesting to decode mythology. Shiva by himself is seen as pure consciousness or mental energy. He is the dormant, detached male power. He cannot sustain life and creation on his own and needs the dynamism of the Goddess to create life. In a very simple sense, it is the meeting of the fertile earth and its waters, with the light and energy of the sky. The core of the Shiva Purana is the marriage of Shiva and Parvati, which is essential to save the world from turning into a wasteland, or from being destroyed by demons.

Read more stories of Shiva in our Mahadeva series. Now available on the ACK Comics App and Kindle. 

Comic of The Month

Tales of Durga

Goddess Durga is as widely worshipped as Vishnu and Shiva. She is the fierce form of Devi who, as Shakti, is considered the personification of universal energy. According to the Devi Bhagavata the Universe is but Her manifestation - and even Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva worship Her. Durga is worshipped in sixty-four forms as Ambika, Kali, Chamundi, Devi, Uma, etc. The worship of Durga is supposed to be more than 4,000 years old in India. The names of Uma and Parvati occur in the Taittiriya Aranyaka and the Kena Upanishad. Some Indologists are of the opinion that the figure seated on a lion in the coins of Azes I, the Shaka ruler (c. 5 B.C. to A.D. 30), represents Ambika or Durga. Durga is worshipped in one form or another in almost every Indian village. This Amar Chitra Katha is based on the Durga-Saptashati of the Markandeya Purana.

20 Minute Read