Architects of the Indian Constitution

- January 25, 2022

By Kayva Gokhale  Republic Day is celebrated on the 26th of January each year to mark the day that the Constitution of India came into effect. The Constitution of India or the Bharatiya Samvidhan is the document that is considered the supreme law of the nation. It lays down rules and frameworks regarding political structures and procedures of the government, civil, criminal and other codes as well as the rights and duties of the citizens. It is the longest written constitution in the world and it took two years, eleven months and seventeen days to be drafted. The constitution was completed and adopted on 26th November 1949 and came into effect on 26th January 1950. It was therefore on 26th January that the Union of India became the Republic of India. Here are the great minds responsible for the creation of our constitution: B.N. Rau Sir Benegal Narsing Rau was the first person who contributed to the Indian constitution. He was a civil servant, who went on to become the first Indian Judge in the International Court of Justice. He was appointed as the constitutional adviser in 1946, and was responsible for the determination of the general struc...

Comic of The Month


Prahlad drove his monstrous father to a murderous rage. He insisted on praising Lord Vishnu who was considered a sworn enemy by his father Hiranyakashipu. When he tried to punish his disobedient son, Hiranyakashipu's potent poisons turned to nectar while his lethal weapons fell harmlessly away. In this tale of bloodthirsty revenge, Prahlad's only defence is his devotion which dramatically puts an end to all evil.

20 Minute Read