World Heritage Sites in India

- January 6, 2020

India is home to 38 UNESCO World Heritage Sites. 

From the Western Ghats mountain range to the Great Himalayan National Park, from the hill forts of Rajasthan to monuments of Hampi, and from the Sun Temple of Konark to the churches and convents of Goa, UNESCO has identified 38 World Heritage Sites in India. We have the sixth-largest number of heritage sites in the world. These sites are of cultural, natural, and historical importance, and are legally protected by international treaties. 

Here is the complete list. 

  1. Agra Fort 
  2. Ajanta Caves 
  3. Archaeological Site of Nalanda Mahavihara at Nalanda, Bihar 
  4. Buddhist Monuments at Sanchi
  5. Champaner-Pavagadh Archaeological Park 
  6. Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus 
  7. Churches and Convents of Goa (a set of religious monuments located in Goa Velha or Old Goa)
  8. Elephanta Caves 
  9. Ellora Caves 
  10. Fatehpur Sikri 
  11. Great Living Chola Temples
  12. Group of Monuments at Hampi 
  13. Group of Monuments at Mahabalipuram 
  14. Group of Monuments at Pattadakal 
  15. Hill Forts of Rajasthan 
  16. Historic City of Ahmedabad 
  17. Humayun’s Tomb, Delhi 
  18. Jaipur City, Rajasthan 
  19. Khajuraho Group of Monuments 
  20. Mahabodhi Temple Complex at Bodh Gaya 
  21. Mountain Railways of India 
  22. Qutb Minar and its Monuments, Delhi 
  23. Rani-ki-Vav (the Queen’s Stepwell) at Patan, Gujarat 
  24. Red Fort Complex 
  25. Rock Shelters of Bhimbetka 
  26. Sun Temple, Konârak 
  27. Taj Mahal 
  28. The Architectural Work of Le Corbusier, an Outstanding Contribution to the Modern Movement 
  29. The Jantar Mantar, Jaipur 
  30. Victorian Gothic and Art Deco Ensembles of Mumbai 
  31. Great Himalayan National Park Conservation Area 
  32. Kaziranga National Park 
  33. Keoladeo National Park 
  34. Manas Wildlife Sanctuary 
  35. Nanda Devi and Valley of Flowers National Parks 
  36. Sundarbans National Park 
  37. Western Ghats 
  38. Khangchendzonga National Park

Comic of The Month


It was a time when the earth was ravaged with violence and bloodshed. The Kshatriya kings had forgotten their duty to rule with compassion. Instead, they subdued the people by unleashing a reign of brutal terror. At such a time the sixth incarnation of Vishnu was born. Parashurama, axe-wielding warrior-saint, strode across the age to destroy evil and liberate good.

20 Minute Read